CITT honours outstanding logisticians

by Inside Logistics Online Staff
Ginnie Venslovaitis

TORONTO – CITT has presented its annual awards recognizing both professional and academic accomplishments. This year marks the inauguration of four new awards, given to CITT-Certified Logistics Professionals (CCLPs) who exemplify CITT’s goals of fostering excellence and thought leadership in supply chain logistics.

Ginnie Venslovaitis received the Award of Excellence – CITT’s award honoring elite distinction in supply chain logistics, professional and personal integrity, and commitment to improvement of the industry.

The winners of CITT’s new awards were also on hand for their recognition at the conference.

The CITT Innovator Award, given to a CCLP designation holder who has brought fresh, forward-thinking ideas to CITT, went to Warren Sarafinchan.

The inagural Ernie Solomon Volunteer Award, named after a longtime pillar of the CITT community, was awarded to Tom Pauls. 

Duane Chiasson

Recognizing a CCLP who promotes CITT to industry, and takes initiative endorsing professional certification to their peers, the CITT Champion Award was given to Duane Chiasson. “This inaugural Champion award for me is about councils and giving back,” Chiasson said. “My focus with this organization has always been on its relevance, expansion, and continuity as a source of representation for senior logistics professionals. Give back by going to the local council events. You will always get more than you give.”

Jane Ayn Lyndon and Adam Pernasilici were recognized for the Mentor Award, given to CCLPs who demonstrate above-and-beyond dedication to nurturing the professional growth and career development of a mentee and junior colleagues.

Nelson Severino was recognized with the Charles Laferle Memorial Award. After working in logistics for two years, Severino decided to pursue an MBA from Laurier University, and his CCLP designation.

The Robert A Hains Memorial Award was given to Saqlain Banatwala. Banatwala began his career in the industry in 2012 in Muscat-Oman where he worked as an Operations Manager for the retail oil and gas sector handling all aspects of the supply chain cycle. After moving to Canada in 2015 he worked for Deloitte Canada in the procurement sector and began CITT’s program in 2017 after joining C.H. Robinson- a leading 3PL to help get a better understanding of the logistics world in North America.

Adam Spencer-Bone winner of the Charles D. Edsforth Memorial Award, had his first exposure to logistics when he was very young, unloading delivery trucks – sometimes following them around by bike and recruiting friends to help. His first formal job in the industry was in dispatching at a 3PL, where he quickly moved up to supervisor, then manager.

Mark Van Dyk was awarded the Thomas J. McTague Memorial Award.

Erika Friedman winner of the James T. MacKenzie Memorial Award, decided to earn her CCLP designation at the advice of a manager. After beginning as an Inventory Analyst in 2005 at Gibson Energy, she moved up through managerial positions, and is now manager, transportation, at Aurora Cannabis.