Kudos and congratulations: January 11, 2022

by Inside Logistics Online Staff

Captain Felino D’Souza

True to a tradition dating back over 180 years, the Montreal Port Authority (MPA) has awarded the Gold-Headed Cane again this year. The 2022 edition is awarded to Captain Felino D’Souza of the Hapag-Lloyd Quebec Express, the first ocean-going vessel to cross the Port of Montreal’s downstream limit at Sorel without a stopover at 00:21 a.m. Captain D’Souza, himself the son of a sailor, has 27 years of experience at sea, including 16 as Captain. Since his first day at sea, he has been sailing for Anglo-Eastern Ship Management, which manages a fleet of Hapag-Lloyd vessels. D’Souza said he plans to give the cane to his wife, as he won it on her birthday.

G3 Pasqua & CHS Northland Grain Hazel

Canadian Pacific’s 2021 Elevators of the Year are G3 Pasqua in Canada, and CHS Northland Grain Hazel in the U.S. CP presents this award annually to the grain elevators that achieve high volumes from a single loading point while consistently demonstrating efficient railcar loading and a strong commitment to safety. Both elevators are repeat winners. G3 Pasqua won the 2018-2019 crop year award, and CHS Northland Grain Hazel was the inaugural U.S. winner for the 2019-2020 crop year. CP also recognized Cargill Elva (Manitoba) and Elbow Lake Coop Grain (Minnesota) as the runners-up for Elevator of the Year 2020-2021.

The Raymond Corporation

The Raymond Corporation’s iWarehouse Real-Time Location System (iW.RTLS) has been nominated for the 2022 Edison Best New Product Awards, an annual competition that honors excellence in new product and service development, marketing, human-centered design and innovation. Nominated in the Manufacturing, Transportation, or Logistics category, iW.RTLS monitors and identifies the movement of lift trucks, personnel and assets in warehouse facilities. All nominations are vetted by the Edison Award Steering Committee members, who present a slate of finalists to the panel of judges. The Edison Awards will be presented in April 2022.