New award recognizes excellence in humanitarian logistics

Avatar photo
by Emily Atkins

Starting in 2023, the Logistics Hall of Fame will present a new international award: the Lynn C. Fritz Medal for Excellence in Humanitarian Logistics.

The medal will annually recognize humanitarian organizations and their partners for outstanding logistics projects.

The Hall of Fame organization made the announcement at a gala reception with around 200 guests from politics, business and academia on November 29 in Berlin.

The Lynn C. Fritz Medal will be first awarded in 2023.

The medal was devised and sponsored by the Fritz Institute in San Francisco (USA). It is named after the founder and CEO of the institute: Lynn C. Fritz.

The 80-year-old U.S. businessman transferred industrial logistics strategies to humanitarian organizations in the 1990s. He was inducted into the Logistics Hall of Fame in 2021 as the “advocate of logistics for humanitarian organizations.”

“The award is intended to motivate humanitarian organizations to permanently improve their supply chains and to highlight the key role of professional supply chain management in the success of aid projects,” Fritz said in announcing the award.

An international jury made up of representatives from business, science, politics, associations and the media decide on the winner. The jury is chaired by Thilo J├Ârgl, managing partner of the Logistics Hall of Fame organization. An expert council of specialists in humanitarian logistics will decide which nominees will be presented to the jury for selection.

Key evaluation criteria include efficiency, innovation, sustainability and exemplary character for the field of humanitarian logistics.

The start of the online application process at is March 2023. Each aid organization can apply with its own project. Joint projects involving several organizations and their partners are also eligible. The completed logistics project must not be older than three years.

The Logistics Hall of Fame will present three awards in Berlin at the end of 2023. In addition to the traditional induction of the new member into the Hall of Fame, the organization will present the Lynn C. Fritz Medal and the Traton Logistics Leader of the Year Award to current pacesetters in logistics.

The Hall of Fame provides detailed information and images about logistics milestones and their movers and shakers. It was founded in 2003 and honours leading figures who have made outstanding efforts to promote the further development of logistics and supply chain management.