Canadian Pallet Council recognizes members at Les Smith and Bernard Brunet Awards

by Canadian Shipper

The Canadian Pallet Council (CPC) has recognized two members with the distinguished Bernard Brunet and Les Smith Awards during its recent Annual General Meeting and update.  

This year’s awards for outstanding service went to Shawn Lacey, Metro Ontario Inc. and Diane Lalonde of Provigo Inc.

“The Canadian Pallet Council would not be the notable Canadian success story it is today if it weren’t for the unwavering support from its members. By recognizing those exceptional members who go beyond daily operations to truly make a difference in both their company and the CPC is an honour,” said Belinda Junkin, president and CEO of the Canadian Pallet Council.

The 2009 Bernard Brunet Award is presented to a senior-level person who has made a major contribution to the association and/or the industry and to the handling of pallets within his or her business. 

Shawn Lacey, VP Logistics & Distribution, Metro Ontario Inc. received the award this year. Lacey has been a proactive member of CPC’s Board of Directors and served on the Executive Committee. During his tenure the CPC progressed ahead of schedule with crucial and timely directives based on Strategic Plan initiatives. Many of these accomplishments could not have been executed without Shawn’s leadership and resolve, said the CPC.

The 2009 Les Smith Award, which honours the person who does their utmost within pallet administration to ensure timely, accurate and efficient recordkeeping, was presented to Diane Lalonde, Returnable Transport Items Technician of Provigo Inc. Lalonde was recognized for her commendable knowledge and meticulous work ethic.


Diane’s work with both the CPC and CTSWEB in Quebec are unparalleled, said the CPC, which noted that she continuously looks for better or more efficient solutions, readily assists French CTSWEB users; and energetically addresses CPC member needs, when required.


Have your say

We won't publish or share your data