BCTA promotes environmental improvements at annual conference

by Canadian Shipper

KELOWNA, B.C. — The BC Trucking Association’s (BCTA’s) 95th Management Conference and AGM profiled industry members who have invested in new “green” technologies to showcase successful fuel-saving strategies.

“The Greening of the Motor Carrier Industry” was the theme of the recent convention, and the topic of a panel discussion about how both business practices and selected fuel-saving technologies can reduce fuel consumption and improve efficiency. A three-member panel featured: Rob Penner, vice-president of operations for Bison Transport; Gene Orlick, president of Orlick’s Transport; and Sharon Banks, CEO of Cascade Sierra Solutions a US non-profit providing support on emissions reduction to the industry along the Interstate 5 corridor of Washington, Oregon, and California through outreach and incentives.

The BCTA says that fuel prices are “sky high and rising; the carbon tax is upon us and the economy is slowing,” but there is still hope for the trucking industry “if it is willing to adopt new strategies, find ways to invest in new equipment and green its fleets.”

In addition, an “enviroTruck” was featured at the show, which had a new “smog-free” engine fitted with fuel-saving devices, courtesy of BCTA member Glenncoe Transport.

The BCTA’s 2008 service to the industry award was presented to Hanne Madsen, the president of DanFoss Couriers and Freight. Madsen is a long-time member of the BCTA board of directors, infrastructure development and insurance committees, and was previously on the BCTA executive committee, the human resources task force and the conference committee. Madsen began work at DanFoss Couriers and Freight in 1987 after an initial period as a sales representative with Kraft Foods. At DanFoss Couriers and Freight, Madsen first held different positions in sales and assistant management, then eventually moved on to become general manager, and is now president.

The 2008 BCTA driver of the year was presented to Lorne Rasmussen of Arrow Transportation Systems. Rasmussen has worked in the transportation industry for 56 years and 5.8 million miles, according to the BCTA. Starting at Arrow Transportation Systems in 1972, Rasmussen worked full-time until trying retirement in the summer of 2000. During the first 28 years with the company, he operated daily without involvement in a preventable motor vehicle collision, nor lost time due to personal injury. Returning a few months after the official retirement date, Rasmussen at 71, continues to drive three days a week in the Kamloops wood fibre division. To date, he has provided 36 years of dedicated service at Arrow, including participation on committees, as a mentor for new drivers and at truck rodeos.

The BCTA’s new executive committee for 2008-09 is as follows: chairman, Greg Rogge of Clark Freightways; first vice-chairman, Murray Scadeng of Triton Transport; second vice-chairman, Victor Martin of Excel Transportation; secretary/treasurer Steve Islaub of Northwest Tank Lines. The BCTA associate members are: Gerry Cullen of Western Star & Sterling Trucks of Vancouver, with alternate Greg Munden of Munden Ventures and past chairman, Dietmar Krause of TMS Transportation Management Services.

The 2008-2009 BCTA Board of Directors, who were acclaimed at the AGM, are as follows: Larry Baloun, BC Ready-Mixed Concrete Association/Ocean Construction Supplies; Jack Bandstra, Bandstra Transportation Systems; Michael Bennett, Hub International Insurance Brokers; Don Benson, Benson Tank Lines; Brenda Birtig, City Transfer; John Bourbonniere, Yellow Transportation; Donald Coe, Glenncoe Transport,; Gerry Cullen, Western Star and Sterling Trucks of Vancouver; Neil Daponte, Canadian Freightways; Keith DeBlaere, Tenold Transportation; Mike DesLauriers, Neptune Food Services; Jerry Gallant, Freightliner of Vancouver; Russ Goosen, Eagle West Truck and Crane; Steve Islaub, Northwest Tank Lines; Ken Johnson, Ken Johnson Trucking,; Dietmar Krause, TMS Transportation Management Services; Rick McArthur, Macal Bulk Transport; Brendan McCullough, McCullough Coach Lines; Gary McLeod, Northern BC Truckers Association; Hanne Madsen, DanFoss Couriers and Freight; Victor Martin, Excel Transportation; Greg Munden, Munden Ventures; Cornel Notenboom, Trimac Transportation Services; Roop Pannu, Pannu Bros. Trucking; Greg Rogge, Clark Freightways; Trevor Sawkins, Coldstar Freight Systems; Murray Scadeng, Triton Transport; Ret Tinning, Berry and Smith Trucking; Gary Vos, Tri-R Transport; Jim White, Commercial Logistics; and Patrick Yearwood, Yearwood and Company Lawyers.

Have your say

We won't publish or share your data