Inside Logistics

Canadian fleets sweep TCA safety award grand prizes

Patrick Kuehl (left), executive vice-president of Great West Casualty Company, presents Brian Kurtz, president of Brian Kurtz Trucking, with the National Fleet Safety Awards grand prize for truckload carrier companies in the small carrier division.

March 22, 2011

SAN DIEGO, Calif. — Two Canadian carriers have claimed the top grand prizes at the Truckload Carriers Association’s highly coveted National Fleet Safety Awards. Brian Kurtz Trucking of Breslau, Ont. won the award for truckload companies in the small carrier division (total annual mileage of less than 25 million miles), while Bison Transport of Winnipeg, Man. won in the category for truckload companies in the large carrier division (total annual mileage of 25 million or more miles).

TCA presented the awards to Brian Kurtz, president of Brian Kurtz Trucking, and Rob Penner, vice-president of operations for Bison Transport, at the association’s Annual Awards Banquet held March 15 at the San Diego Convention Center. This year marked the fourth time Bison Transport has won the grand prize at the awards ceremony.

The fleets earned top honours in their respective categories while competing against Canadian and American trucking firms. Also receiving recognition were MacKinnon Transport of Guelph, Ont., which topped its division for carriers with total annual mileage of 15-24.99 million miles, and Groupe Robert of Boucherville, Que. which came in second place in the 50-99.99 million miles division.

The two grand prize winners were selected from among 18 division winners in the National Fleet Safety Division Awards announced in January. In order to be granted the prestigious grand prize, both companies had to demonstrate that they strive to meet stringent standards in their overall safety programs, on and off the highway, and were judged to be the best in their commitment to improving highway safety.

Both companies will be recognized a second time during TCA’s upcoming Safety and Security Division Annual Meeting, to be held May 15-17, at the Embassy Suites Murfreesboro Hotel and Conference Center in Murfreesboro, Tenn.