Ontario Safety League holds annual meeting

by Canadian Shipper

The Ontario Safety League named its new board of directors as well as presented several awards at its 88th annual general meeting this week.

“We in the ministry have benefited from the actions of the Safety League and its role in road safety,” says Saad Rafi, assistant deputy minister for safety and regulation at the Ontario Ministry of Transportation.

“We look forward to courting this relationship and enhancing it in the future,” Rafi, speaking on behalf of minister Brad Clark, adds during the lunch-hour meeting held Apr. 24.

During the meeting the league recognized Dick Hewett, the Rhonda London Live Show and the late Dr. Bob Imrie for their contributions to its goal of promoting road safety and education.

This year’s board members include Kalim Ansari, executive vice-president of Honda Canada; Paul Banelopoulos, district manager for Penske Truck Leasing; T. E. Boyko, deputy chief of Toronto Fire Services; Morrey Rae Hutnick, vice-president of marketing at 407 International Inc.; Brian Julian, executive case manager at Imperial Oil, and Peter C. Newhouse, director, Inbound Transportation – Loblaw Companies East.

Have your say

We won't publish or share your data