Benchmarks – December 2008

by Array

Lakeside Logistics has awarded 12 of its carriers with its inaugural Vision Green Globe Award. The Oakville, Ontario-based third-party logistics provider created the award to recognize its carriers’ commitment to environmental measures and participation in the US SmartWay partnership.

This year’s winners are Bison Transport, Brian Kurtz Trucking, Caravan Logistics, Challenger Motor Freight, Kriska Holdings, MacKinnon Transport, Yanke Group of Companies, Penner International, SGT 2000, Team Logistics, TST Overland Express and XTL Transport.

To celebrate the achievements, Lakeside offset one tonne of CO2 on behalf of each carrier, which equates to driving a truck approximately 1,000km.

Luke Langlois of Brockville, Ontario has been named the 2008 Ontario Truck Driver of the Year by the Ontario Trucking Association (OTA). A professional transport driver with Kriska Transportation, Langlois has driven two million collision-free miles in nearly 20 years on the road. The OTA presented the award at its annual convention in Toronto in November.

Three trucking industry leaders received the Trailmobile Service to Industry Award this fall.

Vernon Erb, founder of the Erb Group of Companies, won the 2008 Ontario Trucking Association (OTA) Trailmobile Service to Industry Award. Erb began
trucking in 1956. In the decades that followed, he built a company that today includes more than 700 vehicles, 900 trailers and 10 terminals in Ontario, Quebec,
Manitoba and Pennsylvania. He retired from daily management of the company in 1999.

Don Streuber, president and CEO of Winnipeg, Manitoba-based Bison Transport, received the 2008 Trailmobile Service to Industry Award for the Manitoba Trucking Association (MTA). Among Streuber’s many achievements is the reduction of 15.6 million kilograms of greenhouse gas emissions annually.

Doug Siemens of Siemens Transportation Group won the award for the Saskatchewan Trucking Association (STA) in October.

Bellville Rodair International has renamed its CITT academic scholarships after two of the company’s founding members. The two scholarships, worth $1,000 each, are now called the Pat Cullen Scholarship and the John Chipperfield Scholarship, respectively. Cullen and Chipperfield were instrumental in
building the company, and are both members of CITT. The scholarships will be given annually to two students enrolled in the CITT program.

The Calgary Airport Authority has been named one of Alberta’s Top 40 Employers for 2009. The annual ranking is compiled by Canada Employment Weekly. It
recognizes employers that are leaders in eight areas: physical workplace; work atmosphere and social; health, financial and family benefits; vacation and time off; employee communications; performance management; training and skills development; and community involvement. The Calgary Airport Authority has 160 employees and receives over 1,000 job applications annually—a high number in Alberta’s competitive job market.