Who’s on the move: April 4, 2016

by MM&D Online Staff

The Canadian Trucking Alliance elected a new Executive Committee for the 2016-18 term. Seven new faces are featured among the 14 officers and at-large carrier members on the committee. The new lineup of CTA officers is:

  • Chairman: Gene Orlick, President, Orlicks Transport Inc., Rocky View County, AB
  • 1st Vice Chairman: Scott Smith, President, J.D. Smith and Sons Ltd., Vaughan, ON
  • 2nd Vice Chairman: Ed Malysa, President & COO, Trimac Transportation Services LP, Calgary, AB
  • Treasurer: Gord Peddle, President, Atlantica Diversified Transportation Systems, Mount Pearl, NL
  • Secretary: Dan Duckering, President & CEO, Duckering’s Transport Ltd., Edmonton, AB
  • David Bradley, President and CEO, Canadian Trucking Alliance, Toronto, ON

The at-large members of the committee are:

  • Greg Arndt, Co-Owner & Vice President, Jade Transport Ltd., Winnipeg, MB
  • Greg Munden, President, Munden Ventures Ltd., Kamloops, BC
  • Reg Quiring, Chief Executive Officer, Q-Line Trucking Ltd., Saskatoon, SK
  • Ken Rosenau, Director of Operations, Rosenau Transport Ltd., Edmonton, AB
  • Pierre Aubin, President, L’Express du Midi Inc., Ste-Catherine, QC
  • Shane Esson, General Manager, Midland Transport Limited, Dieppe, NB
  • Jean-Claude Fortin, President, J.E. Fortin Inc., Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle, QC
  • Gord Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Manitoulin Group of Companies, Gore Bay, ON
US Senator Lamar Alexander
US Senator Lamar Alexander
US Representative Mike Simpson
US Representative Mike Simpson

US Senator Lamar Alexander and Representative Mike Simpson have been jointly selected to receive the American Association of Port Authorities’ (AAPA) 2016 “Port Person of the Year” award. AAPA selected Alexander and Simpson for the association’s most prestigious annual award due to their leadership in providing targeted funding levels to implement the Water Resources Reform and Development Act (WRRDA) of 2014. Alexander and Simpson each chair their respective chamber’s Energy and Water Development Appropriations Subcommittee.

—April 4, 2016