Who’s on the move: January 23, 2017

by Inside Logistics Online Staff
Mark McAndrews
Mark McAndrews

Mark McAndrews, port director of the Port of Pascagoula, MS is the 2016-17 chairman of the board for the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA)—the voice of seaports in the Americas. He succeeds Jim Quinn, president and CEO of Port Saint John in New Brunswick. McAndrews also chairs the association’s US delegation, whose other officers include chairman-elect Steven Cernak, PPM, of Port Everglades, and vice-chairman William D. Friedman of the Cleveland-Cuyahoga County Port Authority. Canadian delegation officers are: chairman – Gaétan Boivin, Trois-Rivières Port Authority; chairman-elect – Denis Caron, Belledune Port Authority; vice chairman – Carl Laberge, Saguenay Port Authority; and past-chairman – Jim Quinn. Chairing the Caribbean delegation is Glenn Roach of Barbados Port Inc. The chairman-elect is Grantley Stephenson of Kingston Wharves Limited and the vice chairman Clement Reid of the Port Authority of the Cayman Islands. Officers of the Latin America delegation are: chairman  Gerardo Varelalero, Autoridad Marítima de Panamá; chairman-elect,  Raúl Urzúa, Empresa Portuaria Valparaíso; and vice chairman Alberto Diaz, Administración Nacional de Puertos de Uruguay.

Norm Kukuk, executive vice president of marketing for ORBIS Corporation, was recently elected as the Reusable Packaging Association (RPA) chairman of the board for the 2017 term. The position was previously held by Hillary Femal, vice president of global marketing at IFCO SYSTEMS. The association comprises manufacturers, suppliers, end users and advocates of reusable packaging in North America and beyond. At ORBIS, Kukuk currently provides executive leadership for ORBIS’ marketing and product development efforts, including the planning, development and implementation of strategic business plans and goals. As RPA chairman, he will collaborate with the RPA board of directors and Tim Debus, RPA president and CEO, to execute the overall vision of growing membership, expanding end-user engagement and elevating the use of reusables.

Broekman Logistics appointed Willem Jan van Amersfoort as managing director warehousing and distribution. van Amersfoort started earlier this year at Broekman Logistics and was operationally responsible for all warehouse locations. With the departure of Jacques Klein Kramer, he has also taken on the commercial responsibility for the business unit.

— January 23, 2017