Inside Logistics

Minister Raitt announces appointment to Canada Post Corp.

December 22, 2014

OTTAWA, Ont.–The Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Transport, has announced the appointment of Siân M. Matthews of De Winton, Alberta, as Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Canada Post Corporation for a four-year term. Canada Post and its subsidiaries are entrusted with more than 10 billion pieces of mail annually.

Matthews has been a member of the Board of Directors since August 2007 and was appointed Interim Chair in October 2014. She has served as chair of the Corporate Social Responsibility and Environmental Risks Committee and currently also serves as chair of the Strategic Initiative Oversight Committee, responsible for the transformation of Canada Post.

Matthews is a corporate director and a leading practitioner in governance, trust law and private client matters. She holds a bachelor of arts degree from the University of Waterloo, a bachelor of laws degree from the University of Ottawa and was called to the Alberta Bar in 1985. Prior to entering independent practice,  Matthews was a partner at a leading Canadian law firm where she was a member of the tax department.

In addition to being a regular contributor to legal journals, Matthews was also an editor of the Estate Trust and Pensions Journal, the preeminent Canadian scholastic journal for trust and pension matters. Matthews has been a sessional instructor at the Faculty of Law at the University of Calgary and currently sits on the boards of the Calgary Municipal Lands Corporation, the Southern Alberta Opera Association and the Calgary Foundation.

“I am very pleased that Ms. Matthews has agreed to serve as Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Canada Post. Her experience as a Member of the Board as well as her extensive legal and financial experience will be invaluable to the Corporation,” said Minister Raitt.